You’re Not Alone

I wish I could shut my brain down sometimes.

Tonight is one of those nights where I want to sleep but my mind keeps buzzing. Usually I sleep like a baby. I’m very good at deep breathing and using meditative techniques to fall asleep quickly. However, tonight even those seem to be failing me as my mind races a mile a minute trying to process everything that has happened in the last couple days and everything that is going to happen in the next couple days. It is stressful doing all this planning in my head when all I want to do is sleep.

There isn’t really a life lesson to learn out of this, or any piece of wisdom I have regarding how to quiet a worried mind. Oftentimes meditation and deep breathing work, but there are situations where I think it is alright and normal to lose a little bit of sleep trying to process through what is happening. So I write this short little blog not to teach but to simply say this: If you’re up late worrying about something, you’re not alone.

Just like I’m pretty sure I’m not alone even as I sit by myself in my room typing away because I can’t bring myself to sleep. I know there are people out there who are having a similarly sleepless night. I know there are people in the world who are worried about something, or who keep replaying the day over and over again in their heads. To all of those people unable to sleep tonight because something is on your mind: You’re not alone and it is okay.

Maybe I’m writing this because I need to hear it too. I need a written reminder that no matter what I’m going through, or how little I sleep tonight, that I’m not alone and it is okay. 

One thought on “You’re Not Alone

Leave a Reply

